Chu, BnS, WineSkin, & Squirrels

So, I fasted from video games for a whole year after my wife left. Then, everything went to crap. I am, quite frankly, bored and uninspired with life. I have work. I have Aikido. I have Kenjutsu. I have my kids, whom I love. There are many evenings and days, though, when my kids are not with me, I have no martial arts classes to go to, and my friends are all busy. Those are days when I would typically sit and stare at the floor for hours at a time, cry in the back yard, or eat pints of Ben and Jerry’s ice cream…

So, I set out to find a Samurai themed MMO. There isn’t one. So, I stet out to find some kind of Asian fusion mash-up MMO, one that was more like the Pandaren Turtle island thing from WoW, but the whole way through the game. People kept recommending Blade and Soul. There were some problems with BnS, as it is oft referred to.

  1. We don’t actually have it here in the US.
  2. It’s a PC only Game
  3. I do not speak Russian, Korean, Chinese, or Japanese.

Nonetheless, I love technical challenges. So, I set out to beat this thing. Okay, I got this game up and running on Wineskin with the nosync engine from Dan the Man. I added vc2005 runtime and mscorefonts via winetricks (recommended on wine hq). I read somewhere that I should add msxml 3 and dot net 40… I also checked “use mac driver instead of x11” under screen options. Then I followed ChuBamPow’s original install & patch tutorial. I eventually got audio to by adding openal under winecfg and by adding core audio under sound devices in regedit. I did some other stuff. I eventually just ended up installing Win 7, via bootcamp and following this new tut by ChuBamPow:

So, of course my first character was again as close to me as possible… short, bald, and good with a sword. I went through the introductory quest, saw my sensei killed by Jin Varrel (sorry about the spoiler), and played through the bamboo village quests.Picture

When it was time to finish up some side quests in the village or move on to the next section of the game, I began to get bogged down in the slowness of my computer or my Internet connection or both perhaps. Also, at this point, the translation began getting really weird.

Enjoy some voice acting of the translation by Chu, below:


So, inspired by frustration, and really wanting to have a good experience, I rolled up a new character. This time I took the assassin route, inspired by Alka, the main character from the TV Series. The assassin has some really cool skills and is fun to play, but definitely not an OP tank by any means. I had to watch my health and actually pay attention to how I was fighting and what skills I was using on whom and when.
Picture
This time I made it well into the next section of the game, I completed two dungeons, and I collected an entire set of Bopae for my character (“it is a table…”). Again, though, I began to get bogged down in the slowness of my computer or my Internet connection or both. Often, I would hear the little dinging sound that alerts me to the fact that an enemy mob is coming to kill me, and I would see no one. I ended up spinning around and attacking at random , trying desperately to stay alive. Usually my enemy would load after I had killed it or just before. Not very helpful for targeting. This could have been a result of running in Wine, my slow Internet connection, or squirrels… not kidding. I occasionally have squirrels go after the wiring on my wireless Internet antenna.Also, as I’ve mentioned before, I am a socializer. I hate being alone in a game. There aren’t many English speakers playing with me, and that gets old. My main social interaction comes from people challenging me to duels that I cannot win… ever, due to my crappy connection. The lag is real…

Still, I keep coming back to this game, at least once every two weeks because look at it. It’s just inspiring, unlike WoW…


Picture

Uninspiring Westfall…

Picture

Bamboo village in BnS
Leave a Reply

